X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine/ Transmission removal

Hi

Maybe a stupid question :

Is it possible to remove the engine + transmission in one go from a 356A?

-Disassemble electric cables, hoses carb, linkage heaters
    -Remove the hoop at the 2 points at the body
    -Disassemble the 2 shafts.
    -Disassemble the 2 transmission mounts from the body

Can the complete setup (engine + transmission) shift this much backwards so everything can come out at once?

Grts
    Bart

Bart

Why?? Four bolts hold the engine to the trans. The trans hoop is easier accesses with the engine out. You can always put them back together after they are out.

I have been doing this for over 50 years and have never had a reason to drop them together.
    Pushed around since 1966.

Comment

It is possible to but as John said its really tough to get at the hoop bolts down deep behind the dog house (fan Shroud).The hoop mount cover plates might prove tough to remove as well with the engine in the way.
      Justin Rio

Comment

Ok, thanks for the input

This will be my first 356 engine/ transmission drop.
        Then we remove first the engine

I'm familiar with the 911/ 964 models were it's roughly 4 bolts loose and engine & transmission can come out at once (ok, you need to loosen also linkage and hoses, drive shafts,...)

If you compare the design with the 911 & later air cooled models this is a strange design engine is supported at one side only

Learning every day on these cars

Comment

I see, you where approaching it like a 911, that makes sense.
          We're always learning something new about these cars too.
          Is this car going on a dolly? Remember unlike a 911 with seperate trailing arms an old swing axle requires the trans remain in it if want to keep it mobile.
          Justin
          Justin Rio

Comment

The plan is to create a rotisserie for the car.