primer for the 356

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• primer for the 356

anyone here do their own paint work? i'm not sure what to use for primer, the car will be bare metal. what i'm concerned about is the lead, now I've been in the restoration business for over 30 years and painted many older cars lots of them with lead. Most of the time I remove the lead and use filler to get it back. My problem with the lead is that I've seen many older cars that have been restored get bubbles at all the leaded areas. I'm thinking this is caused buy using the wrong primer. I use a lot of etch prime, but I think the acids in the etch prime don't get along with the lead and start a corrosion process that ends up with the bubbles. The new rage is epoxy and I've use plenty of it. But i'm not sure how it will work over the lead and some epoxy's have rust inhibitors so this may be a problem. Has anyone got a good idea ?
    thanks Jay D

Jay, I'm no expert on paint I just do my own painting on my old cars. I used the now out lawed lacquer and since then I've used the Epoxy primers with no problem. I just make sure every thing is supper clean and de waxed. I would suggest getting a hold of PPG or who ever paint/primer you are using and talk with one of there tech folks. I never mix my primer with another paint producer paint. Maybe that can cause the problem I'm not sure on that as I always use PPG paint products and the epoxy paint. Hope this helps and good luck. George

Comment

Jay,
      I'm sure Bruce Baker could chime in here with some great recommendations.