1960 T5 Color and Quantity Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1960 T5 Color and Quantity Question

I recently purchased a 60 356 coupe and have ha trouble getting an answer on my color code. I ordered the COA, spoke to a few different Porsche resto shops and many forums. My door tag says 609.
    Also trying to see if it is possible to see how many of special order car were done, for instance, how many 60's we done with my color/accessory combo? I was also told my car was a euro model, not sure how to tell.

This is my first 356 so im totally new to this.
    Any advise?

Here are the standard colors for 60 61. Sure it's not 608 with just a weak stamping of the 8 ? You might also look under the dash and inside the doors for the original paint to see if 608 Silver Metallic is correct. Perhaps Heinz had one to many beers for lunch and picked up the 9 stamp instead of the 8. As to Euro model, you'll not have the rear reflectors above the bumper and the engine will have the Euro heating system. Your gauges will also be in metric and KM. As to number of certain color combinations, there is no compilation of that data, only percentages of colors used during certain years. First 6 mos. of 1960, 23% of cars were Silver Metallic, the highest percentage during that period. By the first ten mos. of 62 it had dropped to 5th place and 9 % of cars.
    Cheers,
    Joel

Click image for larger version

Name:	screen_shot_2015_06_28_at_5_37_24_pm_f7cdc7a014a5f2f61f1fe052684927f78e8ff6cc.png
Views:	24
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	88980

Comment

Here it is.
      Attached Files

Comment

My reflectors are on the bottom and my speedo is in mph. What is different about a euro heater.

Comment

Top image is Euro heater boxes, bottom US. Your car is a US model from all indications so far.

Name:	DSC04610_1024x1024.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	88986

Name:	003.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	88987

Comment

I think that "euro" heaters began in '63.